top of page
  • Writer's pictureTaylor Maguire

Week Two... Settling in and Meeting Death's Door

Vet offices can be dull waiting around for your appointment but, if you saw what was going on in the back you too would shit your pants. From sniffles to full-blown emergency surgeries the back is always full of bustling noise. One doctor will be shouting orders for a patient crashing on the treatment table while the other doctor is trying to tell you how to work a CBC (complete blood count) machine.


I am fully sure I am annoying every tech on staff running around like a chicken with my head cut off. I hardly know anything at this point yet they expect it of me in some weird twisted way. Some are still trying to teach me little things around the hospital but, the majority have gotten used to my presence I guess, and have started to ignore the fact I might still need a little extra help.


I have gotten down the codes for the computers to pull up the questions for re-check appointments and wellnesses but, I am still struggling to ask other important questions when i start digging around into something abnormal.


I have seen as well that there is a lot of death. At least six pets have died at one am shift this week between two doctors. I have been in a room with euthanasias too and I am surprised I have not cried yet. Owners feel that connection and bond to their animals and I feel as if that is why I have no reaction; it is because I do not have that strong bond with that particular animal. I cried like a baby when my cat recently passed away this week yet when I am watching the doctor put the euthanasia solution in the catheter, I feel nothing. I just stare at that port as the plunger goes down through to the needle connected to it and before I know it I am taking the limp warm mound to the back room to be labeled and laid down in a freezer until the cremation services come at the end of the day.


I try to remember this was someone's baby. I gently go about taking s catheter out and I always plant a kiss on their foreheads before I lay them into their bag and label it. I felt horrible with the first two but as time goes on the emotions just trickle out as if they were never meant to come out in the first place.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page